Allegiant STREAMING ITA (2016) | Patema Inverted | Orange Is the New Black

Reading RSS

VA – Dim Lights Thick Smoke & Hillbilly Music: Country & Western Hit Parade 1964 (2011)
Artist: VA
Title: Dim Lights Thick Smoke & Hillbilly Music: Country & Western Hit Parade 1964
Year Of Release: 2011
Label: Bear Family Records
Genre: Country, Bluegrass, Hillbilly, Progressive Country
Quality: Mp3 320 / Flac (image, .cue, log)
Total Time: 80:27
Total Size: 210/510 Mb (scans)


01. Roger Miller – Dang Me
02. Bobby Bare – Four Strong Winds
03. George Jones – The Race Is On
04. Johnny Cash – Understand Your Man
05. Lefty Frizzell – Saginaw, Michigan
06. Warner Mack – Sittin’ In An All Night Cafe
07. Dottie West – Here Comes My Baby
08. Buck Owens – My Heart Skips A Beat
09. Merle Haggard – Sing A Sad Song
10. Johnny Cash – Ballad Of Ira Hayes
11. Porter Wagoner – Sorrow On The Rocks
12. Patsy Cline – He Called Me Baby
13. Stonewall Jackson – Don’t Be Angry
14. Jim Reeves – Welcome To My World
15. Webb Pierce – Memory #1
16. Loretta Lynn – Wine, Women And Song
17. Buck Owens – Together Again
18. Jimmy Martin – Widow Maker
19. Charlie Walker – Close All The Honky Tonks
20. Ray Price – Burning Memories
21. Norma Jean – Go Cat, Go
22. Roger Miller – Chug-A-Lug
23. Billy Edd Wheeler – Ode To The Little Brown Shack Out Back
24. Johnny Cash – It Ain’t Me, Babe
25. Billy Walker – Cross The Brazos At Waco
26. Jim Reeves – I Guess I’m Crazy
27. Hank Williams, Jr. – Long Gone Lonesome Blues
28. Connie Smith – Once A Day
29. Buck Owens – I Don’t Care (Just As Long As You Love Me)
30. Porter Wagoner – I’ll Go Down Swinging
31. Peter LaFarge – Ballad Of Ira Hayes

Bear Family’s ongoing series of country chart hits Dim Lights, Thick Smoke and Hillbilly Music proves that 1964 was a year when various strains of the tradition were widely active. While countrypolitan was making real inroads into crossing over to a wider audience both in America and abroad, it hadn’t completely replaced rootsier, grittier, and farther-reaching aspects of the music, which all made the charts. The proof is in the track selection here, which includes Roger Miller’s "Dang Me" and "Chug-A-Lug," Johnny Cash’s reading of Bob Dylan’s "It Ain’t Me Babe," Bobby Bare’s version of "Four Strong Winds," and "The Ballad of Ira Hayes," offered here by both Cash and its author, Peter La Farge. The Bakersfield sound also made deep impressions on the country charts with Buck Owens’ "My Heart Skips a Beat" and Merle Haggard’s "Sing a Sad Song." Speaking of sad, fans of country music mourned the passing of two of its greatest stars in Jim Reeves, whose 1962 smash "Welcome to My World" was re-released to renewed chart success, and Patsy Cline, whose final session produced "He Called Me Baby," which made the Top 40. Other notables for the year included Lefty Frizzell’s "Saginaw, Michigan," Ray Price’s "Burning Memories," and George Jones’ "The Race Is On," though tracks by Connie Smith, Porter Wagoner, Warner Mack, Loretta Lynn, Stonewall Jackson, Dottie West, and Webb Pierce are also included. This set includes BF’s typically excellent remastered sound, exhaustive discographical annotation, and fine liner notes, making it a must for fans of historical country music.

Download link:

Links are Interchangeable - Single Extraction - Premium is support resumable
Dear visitor, you went to the site as unregistered user.
We recommend that you create or enter the site your name.
Would you like to leave your comment and see hide contents ? Please Login to your account to leave comments. Don't have an account? You can create a free account now.

News Archive


Popular Tags

Popular Download